

## OFFICE OF THE HEAD OF DEPARTMENT

Mr G Paulse

<u>Graham.Paulse@westerncape.gov.za</u>

T: +27 21 483 4999

## **LOCAL GOVERNMENT CIRCULAR C11 OF 2020**

THE MAYOR, CITY OF CAPE TOWN: MR D PLATO THE MAYOR, WEST COAST DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY: MR H CLEOPHAS THE MAYOR, MATZIKAMA MUNICIPALITY: MS M BAINS THE MAYOR, CEDERBERG MUNICIPALITY: MS S QUANTA THE MAYOR, BERGRIVIER MUNICIPALITY: MR R VAN ROOY THE MAYOR, SALDANHA BAY MUNICIPALITY: MR M KOEN THE MAYOR, SWARTLAND MUNICIPALITY: MR T VAN ESSEN THE MAYOR, CAPE WINELANDS DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY: DR H VON SCHLICHT THE MAYOR, WITZENBERG MUNICIPALITY: MR BC KLAASEN THE MAYOR, DRAKENSTEIN MUNICIPALITY: MR CJ POOLE THE MAYOR, STELLENBOSCH MUNICIPALITY: ADV G VAN DEVENTER THE MAYOR, BREEDE VALLEY MUNICIPALITY: MS A STEYN THE MAYOR, LANGEBERG MUNICIPALITY: MR HM JANSEN THE MAYOR, OVERBERG DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY: MR A FRANKEN THE MAYOR, THEEWATERSKLOOF MUNICIPALITY: MS CJM VOSLOO THE MAYOR, OVERSTRAND MUNICIPALITY: MR D COETZEE THE MAYOR, CAPE AGULHAS MUNICIPALITY: MR PJ SWART THE MAYOR, SWELLENDAM MUNICIPALITY: MR NG MYBURGH THE MAYOR, GARDEN ROUTE DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY: MR M BOOYSEN THE MAYOR, KANNALAND MUNICIPALITY: MS M BARRY THE MAYOR, HESSEQUA MUNICIPALITY: MR G RIDDLES THE MAYOR, MOSSEL BAY MUNICIPALITY: MR HJ LEVENDAL THE MAYOR, GEORGE MUNICIPALITY: MS C CLARKE (ACTING) THE MAYOR, OUDTSHOORN MUNICIPALITY: MR CF SYLVESTER THE MAYOR, BITOU MUNICIPALITY: MR MP LOBESE THE MAYOR, KNYSNA MUNICIPALITY: MR A TSENGWA (ACTING) THE MAYOR, CENTRAL KAROO DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY: DR A RABIE THE MAYOR, LAINGSBURG MUNICIPALITY: MR M GOUWS THE MAYOR, PRINCE ALBERT MUNICIPALITY: MR G LOTTERING THE MAYOR, BEAUFORT WEST MUNICIPALITY: MR N CONSTABLE THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, CITY OF CAPE TOWN: ADV L MBANDAZAYO THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, WEST COAST DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY: MR D JOUBERT THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, MATZIKAMA MUNICIPALITY: MR L PHILLIPS (ACTING) THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, CEDERBERG MUNICIPALITY: MR H SLIMMERT (ACTING) THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, BERGRIVIER MUNICIPALITY: ADV. H LINDE THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, SALDANHA BAY MUNICIPALITY: MR H METTLER THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, SWARTLAND MUNICIPALITY: MR J SCHOLTZ THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, CAPE WINELANDS DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY: MR H PRINS THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, WITZENBERG MUNICIPALITY: MR D NASSON THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, DRAKENSTEIN MUNICIPALITY: DR J LEIBBRANDT THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, STELLENBOSCH MUNICIPALITY: MS G METTLER THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, BREEDE VALLEY MUNICIPALITY: MR D MCTHOMAS THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, LANGEBERG MUNICIPALITY: MR SA MOKWENI THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, OVERBERG DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY: MR D BERETTI THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, THEEWATERSKLOOF MUNICIPALITY: MR D LOUW (ACTING) THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, OVERSTRAND MUNICIPALITY: MR C GROENEWALD THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, CAPE AGULHAS MUNICIPALITY: MR D O'NEILL THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, SWELLENDAM MUNICIPALITY: MR A GROENEWALD

THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, GARDEN ROUTE DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY: MR M STRATU
THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, KANNALAND MUNICIPALITY: MR R STEVENS
THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, HESSEQUA MUNICIPALITY: MR J JACOBS
THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, MOSSEL BAY MUNICIPALITY: ADV MG GILIOMEE
THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, GEORGE MUNICIPALITY: MR T BOTHA
THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, OUDTSHOORN MUNICIPALITY: MR R SMIT (ACTING)
THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, BITOU MUNICIPALITY: ADV L NGOQO
THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, KNYSNA MUNICIPALITY: DR M GRATZ (ACTING)
THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, CENTRAL KAROO DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY: MR S JOOSTE

THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, LAINGSBURG MUNICIPALITY: MR J KOMANISI (ACTING)

THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, PRINCE ALBERT MUNICIPALITY: MS A VORSTER

THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER, BEAUFORT WEST MUNICIPALITY: MR A MAKENDLANA (ACTING)

**Dear Colleagues** 

## ADDITIONAL PERSONAL PROTECTIVE EQUIPMENT (PPE) FOR FRONTLINE STAFF

- The National Minister of Coorperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, designated under section 3 of the Disaster Management Act, 2002 (Act 57 of 2020), declared a national state of disaster, as published in Government Gazette No. 43096 on 15 March 2020. This was followed by amendments of Regulations that was issued in terms of Section 27 (2) of the Act.
- 2. Amongst other, municipalities are directed to, in terms of Section 6.10.1 of Regulation 43147;
  - (a) provide frontline staff with the materials or equipment nessesary to prevent person to person transmission, including soaps, sanitizers, facial masks and latex gloves.
  - (c) provide frontline and general staff with training on hygiene and sanitizing of work spaces and on COVID-19 risk identification and response protocols.
  - (e) Dysinfect floor and work surfaces of municipal offices periodically, at least twice a day during working hours.

Section 6.10.1 of the said Regulations, detail further measures to mitigate employee health and safety risks.

3. It is upon these Directions that you are requested to prioritise frontline staff members and

health care practitioners in providing them with the nessesary soaps, sanitizers, facial

masks and latex gloves (PPE) to prevent the person-to-person transmission and further

spread of the virus.

4. In addition, I want to encourage municipalities to include their staff working in the front

line, as well as sanitation, refuse removal and environmental heathh services as part of

clinical staff, as defined by the Department of Health.

5. In order to assist my Department to quantify the stock of PPE that is available in

municipalities in the Province, I want to request that the following information be made

avaibale to my Department as a matter of urgency;

1) Number of gloves currently available and on order

2) Number of face masks currently available and on order

3) Hand sanitiser and on order.

4) Other (provide details)

I request that this information be provided to Ms Eda Barnard at my Department of Local

Government (eda.barnard@westerncape.gov.za) on or before Monday, 30 March 2020

close of business.

Yours faithfully

Mr G Paulse

**HEAD OF DEPARTMENT** 

Date: 27 March 2020